Close Menu
En Español Call Now ADA Website

5 Things You Need To Know About Florida’s No-Fault Insurance Law


Many who live in Florida are likely familiar with the state’s no-fault insurance law, part of which requires all drivers to carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. But there are individuals who are new to the state or have never purchased PIP and find the rules surrounding no fault confusing.

PIP is in place so car accident victims have a simple path to access to medical care following a collision. But if you find the rules overwhelming, or you aren’t sure where to turn after a FL car wreck that has resulted in injury expenses, schedule a conversation with a Miami personal injury lawyer.

Answers to 5 Common PIP Questions 

  1. What is no-fault insurance? No-fault insurance is a policy that requires your own insurance company to pay for your medical expenses, lost wages, and other damages in the event of an accident, regardless of who was at fault. In the state of Florida, every driver must carry at least $10,000 in PIP coverage.
  2. How does no-fault insurance work? In order to be eligible for PIP benefits, you must follow certain deadlines. You are required to seek medical treatment within 14 days of the accident in order to be eligible for PIP benefits. Additionally, you must report the accident to your insurance company within this 14 day time period.
  3. What are the limitations of no-fault insurance? While PIP coverage can be helpful in covering your immediate medical expenses following an accident, PIP benefits do not cover extensive medical bills, property damage, or pain and suffering.
  4. How can an attorney help with a no-fault insurance claim? If you have been involved in a car accident in Florida, it is important to seek the advice of an experienced personal injury attorney who can help you navigate the complexities of the no-fault insurance system. An attorney can help you understand your rights and obligations under the law, as well as the limitations of your PIP coverage.
  5. When should you contact an attorney after a car accident? If you have been involved in a car accident in Florida, contact an attorney as soon as possible. This is especially true if you have suffered significant injuries or damages that may not be covered by your PIP benefits.

Bring Inquires Specific to Your Accident to a Skilled Attorney

Experienced legal professionals are experts in Florida’s no-fault insurance law. They can help you gather the necessary documentation and evidence to support your claim. Also, lawyers will negotiate with your insurance company on your behalf, and pursue additional compensation through a personal injury lawsuit, if necessary. Don’t hesitate to contact a Miami personal injury lawyer today to discuss your legal options.

Is the process of accessing financial compensation for accident injuries confusing you? If you need monetary recovery after a car, truck, or van crash in Florida, talk to the attorneys at Spencer Morgan Law. Our legal team is committed to fighting for the maximum financial settlements for accident victims. Call 305-423-3800 now for a no-cost, confidential assessment.

Request a Free Consultation

Please fill out the form provided and one of our dedicated Miami injury lawyers will assist you in scheduling a free consultation.

* All Contact Form Fields are Required I acknowledge that contacting Spencer Morgan Law through this website does not create an attorney-client relationship, and information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.